Where every number on this site comes from

This page lists 106 figures drawn from 14 distinct sources, checked on 2026-08-06, 2026-08-24, 2026-10-05. Each source carries its own date in the table below rather than inheriting one from the others. Every figure in that table is cited where it appears. Numbers not in the table are the state price tables on the energy prices page (from the two EIA series listed under “Other sources” below), the values the tools calculate, and the example inputs named on each page. Our assumptions are listed separately further down.

The labels, and why they are not decoration

sourced means the figure is supported by the page cited beside it — either a sentence quoted from it or cells transcribed from a table it publishes. On 2026-10-05 each cited quote was re-matched by script against a copy of the source page saved that day. There are 99 of these.

derived means we did arithmetic over sourced values, and the arithmetic is printed below so you can redo it. There are 7.

assumed means nobody publishes it and we chose it. The assumptions are listed further down with their values; the tools that use them say so beside the input.

The distinction matters because the failure mode in this subject is not error, it is unearned confidence. A calculator that presents a guessed regional multiplier in the same typeface as a federal regulation has told you nothing about which parts of its answer to trust.

Sources in use

SourcePageFiguresChecked
HomeGuideweb.archive.org/web/20250808205107/https://homeguide.com/c — Historical cost estimate — archived source dated August 8, 2025582026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-05
U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived)web.archive.org/web/20260630022620/https://www.energy.gov/ — Archived source dated June 30, 2026112026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-01
U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived)web.archive.org/web/20260702074605/https://www.energy.gov/ — Archived source dated July 2, 202692026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-01
U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 10www.ecfr.gov/current/title-10/section-430.3262026-08-06
U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived)web.archive.org/web/20260630092818/https://www.energy.gov/ — Archived source dated June 30, 202652026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-01
U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 10www.ecfr.gov/current/title-10/chapter-II/subchapter-D/part32026-08-06
U.S. Energy Information Administrationwww.eia.gov/energyexplained/units-and-calculators/british-32026-08-06
HomeAdvisorwww.homeadvisor.com/cost/plumbing/install-a-water-heater/ — Historical commercial estimate from the retained October 5, 2026 capture; not re-verifiable by direct fetch on October 25, 2026 (HTTP 403). The publisher does not disclose the sample period. This is not a primary-source market survey or a quote for your job.32026-10-05
U.S. Energy Information Administrationwww.eia.gov/tools/faqs/faq.php?id=45&t=822026-08-06
Internal Revenue Servicewww.irs.gov/credits-deductions/energy-efficient-home-impro22026-08-24
U.S. Geological Survey, Water Science Schoolweb.archive.org/web/20260816183627/https://www.usgs.gov/wa — Archived source dated August 16, 202612026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-05
U.S. Energy Information Administrationwww.eia.gov/electricity/monthly/archive/july2026.pdf — Historical figures — EIA Electric Power Monthly, July 2026 issue (archived), Table 5.6.A, May 2026 data, marked preliminary by EIA12026-08-06; re-checked 2026-10-05
U.S. Energy Information Administrationwww.eia.gov/dnav/ng/hist/n3010us3a.htm12026-10-05
U.S. Energy Information Administrationwww.eia.gov/dnav/pet/hist/LeafHandler.ashx?n=PET&s=W_EPLLP — Historical U.S. residential propane price: $2.674 per gallon, excluding taxes, for the week ending March 30, 2026. Re-verified October 25, 2026 in EIA’s historical series (release dated October 21, 2026). The rolling weekly table has moved on; this is not the latest price or a local delivery quote.12026-08-06

6 of these sources are cited through a dated copy rather than the live page. The federal Energy Saver pages return a not-found response at their published addresses (checked 2026-10-05); several commercial pages and one federal page have changed or refused an automated check since the figures were taken. Each is cited through the Internet Archive copy, or the publisher’s own dated issue, that still shows the figure, and the date of that copy is printed beside it.

Other sources quoted or tabulated

Every figure

FigureRefValueUnitLabelSourceCheckedRefresh by
Peak-hour draw, shower (gallons per use)w1.shower20galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Peak-hour draw, shave (gallons per use)w1.shave2galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Peak-hour draw, hand wash (gallons per use)w1.hand_wash3galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Peak-hour draw, dishwasher (gallons per use)w1.dishwasher7galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Peak-hour draw, washer top load (gallons per use)w1.washer_top_load25galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Peak-hour draw, washer front load (gallons per use)w1.washer_front_load15galsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Usage-bin edge, low (first-hour gallons)w2.bin.low_edge18galsourcedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Usage-bin edge, medium (first-hour gallons)w2.bin.medium_edge51galsourcedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Usage-bin edge, high (first-hour gallons)w2.bin.high_edge75galsourcedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, gas storage 20–55 galw3.class.00.56UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, gas storage 56–100 galw3.class.10.76UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, electric storage 20–55 galw3.class.20.92UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, electric storage 56–120 galw3.class.32.05UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, gas tanklessw3.class.40.81UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Federal minimum efficiency, electric tanklessw3.class.50.91UEFderivedU.S. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 102026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: kwh btuw4.kwh_btu3,412Btu/kWhsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: therm btuw4.therm_btu100,000Btu/thermsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: propane btuw4.propane_btu91,452Btu/galsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: ng btu cfw4.ng_btu_cf1,037Btu/cubic footsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: therms mcfw4.therms_mcf10.37therm/McfderivedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-08-062027-02-06
Conversion: water lb galw4.water_lb_gal8.329lb/galsourcedU.S. Geological Survey, Water Science School (archived copy, August 16, 2026)2026-10-052027-04-05
U.S. average price, electricityw5.us_electricity18.44cents/kWhsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration (July 2026 issue, May 2026 data, preliminary)2026-10-052027-04-05
U.S. average price, gasw5.us_gas15.34USD/McfsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration2026-10-052027-04-05
U.S. average price, propanew5.us_propane2.674USD/galsourcedU.S. Energy Information Administration (historical; see source access note)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 30-gallon tank (low)w6.tank30.low500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 30-gallon tank (high)w6.tank30.high1,900USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 40-gallon tank (low)w6.tank40.low600USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 40-gallon tank (high)w6.tank40.high3,000USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 50-gallon tank (low)w6.tank50.low700USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 50-gallon tank (high)w6.tank50.high3,100USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 65-gallon tank (low)w6.tank65.low900USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 65-gallon tank (high)w6.tank65.high3,400USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 75-gallon tank (low)w6.tank75.low1,100USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 75-gallon tank (high)w6.tank75.high3,600USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 80-gallon tank (low)w6.tank80.low1,200USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, 80-gallon tank (high)w6.tank80.high4,000USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, tankless (low)w6.tankless.low1,400USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, tankless (high)w6.tankless.high5,600USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, heat pump (low)w6.heat_pump.low2,000USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Installed cost, heat pump (high)w6.heat_pump.high4,600USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
National replacement cost (average)w6.anchor.average1,348USDsourcedHomeAdvisor (historical; see source access note)2026-10-052027-04-05
National replacement cost (low)w6.anchor.low350USDsourcedHomeAdvisor (historical; see source access note)2026-10-052027-04-05
National replacement cost (high)w6.anchor.high12,000USDsourcedHomeAdvisor (historical; see source access note)2026-10-052027-04-05
Scope line, permit (low)w7.permit.low50USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, permit (high)w7.permit.high200USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, vent new (low)w7.vent_new.low500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, vent new (high)w7.vent_new.high1,500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, vent replace (low)w7.vent_replace.low100USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, vent replace (high)w7.vent_replace.high600USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, expansion tank (low)w7.expansion_tank.low100USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, expansion tank (high)w7.expansion_tank.high400USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, code upgrade (low)w7.code_upgrade.low75USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, code upgrade (high)w7.code_upgrade.high500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, relocation (low)w7.relocation.low500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, relocation (high)w7.relocation.high2,500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, disposal (low)w7.disposal.low75USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, disposal (high)w7.disposal.high500USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, circuit (low)w7.circuit.low250USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, circuit (high)w7.circuit.high900USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, panel (low)w7.panel.low850USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, panel (high)w7.panel.high1,700USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, gas line (low)w7.gas_line.low350USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, gas line (high)w7.gas_line.high750USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, convert to gas (low)w7.convert_to_gas.low400USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, convert to gas (high)w7.convert_to_gas.high2,000USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, convert to electric (low)w7.convert_to_electric.low250USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Scope line, convert to electric (high)w7.convert_to_electric.high1,000USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Difficult-access labour per hour (low)w7.access_hour.low125USD/hoursourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Difficult-access labour per hour (high)w7.access_hour.high300USD/hoursourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Service life, federal, tanklessw8.doe.tankless20yearssourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Service life, federal, storage loww8.doe.storage_low10yearssourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Service life, federal, storage highw8.doe.storage_high15yearssourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Service life, cost guide, tankless loww8.hg.tankless_low15yearssourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Service life, cost guide, storage loww8.hg.storage_low8yearssourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: low use gpdw9.low_use_gpd41gal/daysourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: high use gpdw9.high_use_gpd86gal/daysourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: saving low use loww9.saving_low_use_low24percentsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: saving low use highw9.saving_low_use_high34percentsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: saving high use loww9.saving_high_use_low8percentsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: saving high use highw9.saving_high_use_high14percentsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: flow loww9.flow.low2gal/minsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: flow highw9.flow.high5gal/minsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: rated risew9.rated_rise70°FsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: rated gas gpmw9.rated_gas_gpm5gal/minsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Tankless figure: rated electric gpmw9.rated_electric_gpm2gal/minsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, July 2, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Heat pump figure: multiple loww10.multiple_low2xsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Heat pump figure: multiple highw10.multiple_high3xsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Heat pump figure: siting min fw10.siting_min_f40°FsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Heat pump figure: siting max fw10.siting_max_f90°FsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Heat pump figure: siting airw10.siting_air1,000cubic feetsourcedU.S. Department of Energy, Energy Saver (archived) (archived copy, June 30, 2026)2026-08-062027-02-06
Repair cost, tank (low)w11.repair_tank.low150USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Repair cost, tank (high)w11.repair_tank.high700USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Repair cost, tankless (low)w11.repair_tankless.low300USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Repair cost, tankless (high)w11.repair_tankless.high1,300USDsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, gas storage (low)w11.published.gas_storage.low250USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, gas storage (high)w11.published.gas_storage.high420USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, gas tankless (low)w11.published.gas_tankless.low220USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, gas tankless (high)w11.published.gas_tankless.high480USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, electric storage (low)w11.published.electric_storage.low530USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, electric storage (high)w11.published.electric_storage.high600USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, electric tankless (low)w11.published.electric_tankless.low340USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, electric tankless (high)w11.published.electric_tankless.high540USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, heat pump (low)w11.published.heat_pump.low160USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Published running cost, heat pump (high)w11.published.heat_pump.high190USD/yrsourcedHomeGuide (archived copy, August 8, 2025)2026-08-062027-02-06
Expired federal credit, credit ratew13.credit_rate30percentsourcedInternal Revenue Service2026-08-242027-02-24
Expired federal credit, credit capw13.credit_cap2,000USD/yrsourcedInternal Revenue Service2026-08-242027-02-24

The derived arithmetic, written out

Therms in a thousand cubic feet of gas

Residential gas is priced per thousand cubic feet and burned per therm. 1,000 cubic feet × 1,037 Btu per cubic foot ÷ 100,000 Btu per therm = 10.37 therms per thousand cubic feet. Every gas running-cost figure passes through that conversion.

Heat the water actually needs

Gallons drawn, times the weight of a gallon of water, times the temperature rise in degrees Fahrenheit, times 365. One British thermal unit raises one pound of water one degree, so no coefficient is needed beyond the weight itself. This is the only step with no appliance in it.

Fuel actually burned

Heat delivered divided by the uniform energy factor. That single division carries standby loss, combustion loss and everything else the rating captures, which is why the rating is a divisor rather than a multiplier and why a rating above 1.0 is possible for a heat pump and impossible otherwise.

Minimum efficiency by class

Federal standards state each minimum as a straight line in rated storage volume, selected by product class and usage bin. The tools evaluate that line rather than storing a lookup table. The figure table above shows one evaluation per class, labelled derived: the medium usage bin at 50 gallons for the classes that stop at 55, at 65 gallons (the smallest priced tank above 55) for the larger classes, and at the class’s own top for the tankless classes.

Heat pumps at or below fifty-five gallons

In that size range the federal electric storage minimum is the resistance floor and does not describe a heat pump at all. So the site multiplies that floor by 2 and by 3, using the published statement that a heat pump can be two to three times as efficient as resistance, takes the midpoint (our choice) for the headline figure, and shows the whole band beside it. Labelled derived, because it is our multiplication rather than anybody’s measurement.

Source access check: October 25, 2026

Historical commercial estimate from the retained October 5, 2026 capture; not re-verifiable by direct fetch on October 25, 2026 (HTTP 403). The publisher does not disclose the sample period. This is not a primary-source market survey or a quote for your job. The retained figures are context only; no new national cost average is asserted.

Historical U.S. residential propane price: $2.674 per gallon, excluding taxes, for the week ending March 30, 2026. Re-verified October 25, 2026 in EIA’s historical series (release dated October 21, 2026). The rolling weekly table has moved on; this is not the latest price or a local delivery quote. The historical observation remains the model input, so this maintenance changes provenance rather than calculated prices.

Installed cost anchor

Every line the scope answers turn on contributes its own published low and high. The low total is the sum of the lows, the high total the sum of the highs, and the headline figure is the midpoint of those two rounded to the nearest twenty-five dollars. There is no multiplier anywhere in that chain.

Assumptions

These are ours. No source states them. Each is listed with the value the tools start from; where a tool uses one, it is an input you can change.

Known limitations, stated rather than hidden

A discrepancy inside the federal sizing worksheet

The worked example on the federal sizing page lists three showers, one shave and one hand dishwashing, then prints a total of 66 gallons. Those line items sum to 65. We add the line items, because the per-use gallons are the operative data. Anyone checking this site against that page will find the one-gallon difference, so it is recorded here rather than left to look like our error.

Efficiency ratings are measured on a laboratory schedule

A uniform energy factor is measured against one of four standard draw patterns, not against your household. Two appliances rated in different bins are not directly comparable at all. The running cost figures on this site are therefore a comparison instrument on fixed assumptions, not a prediction of your bill, and they exclude the standing charge you pay regardless of usage.

Installed-cost bands are commercial, historical and from one guide

The physics, the efficiency standards, the draw-pattern bins and every energy price here come from federal primary sources. The installed-cost bands do not. All of them come from one commercial cost guide (HomeGuide), cited through the Internet Archive copy of August 8, 2025, which does not publish its sample. A second publisher (HomeAdvisor) supplies only the national average and range quoted on the home page, checked on its live page on 2026-10-05. The bands are historical estimates and weaker evidence than the rest of this page, and should be read that way.

There is no regional cost adjustment, on purpose

Labor plainly costs more in some metros than others. No source we could verify publishes a defensible state-by-state installed-cost index for this trade. Rather than invent a multiplier that would look authoritative and be fabricated, the installed-cost tool prices awkward access by the hour from a published hourly premium and lets you set the hours. Energy prices, by contrast, are state-specific and are treated that way.

Service life sources disagree

Federal guidance gives a tankless unit more than 20 years and a storage tank 10 to 15. A commercial guide starts its ranges at 15 and 8. Both are shown wherever service life affects an answer, and the payback verdict uses the longer figure, which gives an upgrade the most time to repay its premium; the shorter figure appears in the sensitivity table.

The energy prices are historical

Electricity: EIA Electric Power Monthly Table 5.6.A, May 2026, from the archived July 2026 issue, marked preliminary by EIA. Natural gas: EIA annual residential price, 2025, from its release of September 30, 2026 (retrieved 2026-10-05). Propane: EIA weekly residential series, U.S., week ending March 30, 2026, excluding taxes. Different fuels therefore carry different periods; none of them is today’s rate. Every figure also carries a refresh date six months past the day it was checked, listed in the table above.

Update log